top of page

A collection of six decodable readers in general fiction collectively published in paperback. Includes comprehension and discussion activities for the beginner reader.


Paperback Readers Level 1 - Snake's Amazing Tales (in precursive letters)

  • The Rocket and Other Stories

    The four levels of Jolly Phonics Readers have been designed to give confidence and enjoyment to young readers so that they can develop independent reading skills and gradually move onto more complex texts. With three lively series in each level, the books enable children to practise phonic skills and develop their reading comprehension.


    The Rocket and Other Stories contains six engaging general fiction stories and provides text comprehension questions, discussion activities and guidance for parents. The text in the book uses only fully decodable regular words (words that are made up from the 42 letter sounds taught in the first stage of Jolly Phonics) and a small number of ‘tricky’ words (frequently used words that are not fully decodable at this stage). At every stage the words are within the reach of children as they use their letter sound knowledge and tricky words already taught. All the tricky words and letter sounds used in the book are shown on the front inside cover. Light type is used as a guide for any silent letters, such as /b/ in lamb.


    Stories included in the book:

    • The Rocket
    • Monsters
    • The Pond
    • Helping
    • The Wind and the Sun
    • Book Week


    Book Contents:

    • Say the Sounds
    • Tricky Words
    • Spot the Story Setting
    • Book Review
    • Character Review


    * The Rocket and Other Stories is a paperback edition of the popular Jolly Phonics Readers, combining stories previously published as six individual books in the Level 1 General Fiction series*

bottom of page